Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links


Canada’s 52 International Polar Year (IPY) science and research projects are collecting and producing vast quantities of data and information on the Arctic.  From ocean salinity to atmospheric chemistry, and from elements found in human blood to information on traditional Inuit travel routes over sea ice, IPY data and information covers a very diverse range of observations, measurements, physical samples, models, publications and products.  To ensure that the knowledge and observations generated through IPY become part of the IPY legacy, this data must be managed effectively.  Addressing this need, the Government of Canada Program for International Polar Year has dedicated $7 million for IPY data management initiatives.

In the spirit of international cooperation which is a cornerstone of IPY, data generated by every IPY project is to be made fully, freely and openly available to all interested users within the shortest possible timescale.  Exceptions will be made to protect: the privacy of human subjects; the rights of traditional knowledge holders; as well as any sensitive information or data the release of which could cause harm, such as the nesting locations of endangered birds or sacred sites. 

Observed data and physical samples collected during IPY represent a valuable resource that will provide scientific value decades into the future, serving as benchmarks against which global change can be measured.  The IPY Federal Program Office is currently investigating the most appropriate methods to preserve observed data and physical samples collected during IPY with particular attention to long-term preservation and the provision of access to IPY data in the future.

By ensuring that Canada’s IPY data is kept secure, accessible and open to free exchange, current and future researchers, policy and decision makers will have the appropriate tools to make informed decisions on Canada’s North.

Canadian IPY Data Policy

Canadian Polar Data Catalogue

Data Assembly Centre Request for Proposals

Proposals are being sought from existing data centres and research libraries to be part of an IPY Data Assembly Centre Network.  The network will consist of data centres that will individually specialize in a thematic data set type from the IPY research (e.g. marine, atmosphere, terrestrial, human health, community based) but also act as a back-up/mirror for each other centre in the network.  This network will be coordinated by an IPY Data Centre Committee made up of representatives from each of the selected data centres and chaired by the IPY Federal Program Office. 

Canadian Polar Data Catalogue

The Canadian Polar Data Catalogue is an online, searchable database of discovery level information or “metadata”, which was developed as part of IPY in partnership with ArcticNet, a Network of Centres of Excellence.  The catalogue includes descriptions of the available data, including attributes of the data, collection methods, locations, etc., and information on how to access it.  More than 500 data sets have been generated through Canada’s IPY research projects, and the majority of these data sets are now featured in the catalogue.  The diversity of types of data sets is shown in the figure below.

Canadian IPY Publications Database

In addition to generating a large number of data sets, IPY projects are producing a sizeable number of publications.  These publications, together with publications related to the three previous IPYs, are captured in the Canadian IPY Publications Database, which is maintained in partnership with the Arctic Institute of North America at the University of Calgary.  The database is intended to capture the scientific peer reviewed publications resulting from IPY, as well as more popularized publications, articles and grey literature related to all aspects of IPY, including its outreach and educations initiatives.  For each record, the database contains a citation, abstract, and detailed subject and geographic terms, and URLs are noted for materials that are available on the Web.  With respect to the most recent IPY (2007-2008), Canadian IPY publications began appearing in 2004 and are anticipated to be produced for at least the next 10 years.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune


Dans le cadre de ses 52 projets de science et de recherche exécutés à l’occasion de l’Année polaire internationale (API), le Canada recueille et produit de vastes quantités de données sur l’Arctique. Qu’il s’agisse de la salinité de l’océan, de la chimie de l’atmosphère, des éléments du sang humain ou des itinéraires traditionnels des Inuits sur la glace de mer, les données obtenues grâce à l’API visent des observations, des mesures, des échantillons, des modèles, des publications et des produits de toutes sortes. Or pour conserver cette mine d’information, il faut savoir gérer efficacement ces données. C’est pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada a alloué 7 millions de dollars à des initiatives de gestion de données dans le cadre du Programme pour l’Année polaire internationale.

Conformément à l’esprit de coopération internationale qui caractérise l’API, les données issues de tous les projets réalisés dans le cadre de cet événement seront communiquées pleinement, gratuitement et librement à tous les intéressés dans les délais les plus brefs. Il y aura certaines exceptions visant à protéger la vie privée des sujets humains (par exemple dans le cadre des études de santé), les droits des détenteurs de savoirs traditionnels ainsi que les données ou renseignements de nature délicate dont la diffusion pourrait s’avérer néfaste, comme la divulgation de l’emplacement de nids d’oiseaux en voie de disparition ou de sites sacrés.

Les observations et les échantillons recueillis durant l’API s’avéreront utiles aux scientifiques pendant des décennies, constituant des valeurs de référence qui serviront à la mesure des changements planétaires. Aussi le Bureau du Programme canadien de l’API cherche-t-il actuellement les meilleurs moyens de conserver ces observations et échantillons, en s’intéressant en particulier à la conservation à long terme et à la communication de ces données dans l’avenir.

Grâce aux moyens qui seront pris pour que les données recueillies par le Canada à la faveur de l’API soient à la fois précieusement conservées et librement accessibles aux intéressés, les chercheurs, les stratèges et les décideurs d’aujourd’hui et de demain disposeront des outils nécessaires pour prendre des décisions éclairées au sujet du Nord canadien.

La Politique canadienne de gestion des données pour l’API

Demande de propositions concernant les centres de rassemblement des données

Les centres de données et les bibliothèques de recherche existants peuvent présenter des propositions pour s’associer à un réseau de centres de rassemblement des données de l’API. Ce réseau regroupera des centres de données qui seront tous spécialisés dans la gestion d’un type d’ensembles de données thématiques générées par les recherches de l’API (p. ex. des données sur le milieu marin, l’atmosphère, le milieu terrestre, la santé humaine et les communautés), mais qui serviront également de sites miroirs/de sauvegarde pour les autres centres du réseau. Un comité des centres de données de l’API, composé de représentants de chacun des centres de données sélectionnés et présidé par le Bureau du Programme canadien de l’API, se chargera de coordonner le réseau.

Le Polar Data Catalogue

Le Polar Data Catalogue (site web non disponible en français) est une base de données canadienne interrogeable en ligne comportant des renseignements d’exploration, ou « métadonnées ». Il a été créé dans le cadre de l’API en partenariat avec le réseau de centres d’excellence ArcticNet. Ce catalogue comporte des descriptions des données existantes, y compris les attributs des données, les méthodes de collecte, les lieux, etc., et il indique en outre comment consulter l’information. Plus de 500 ensembles de données ont été produits dans le cadre de projets de recherche canadiens réalisés à l’occasion de l’API, et la majorité de ces ensembles se trouve maintenant dans le catalogue. Le graphique ci-dessous montre toute la variété de ces ensembles de données.

Banque de données canadienne des publications de l’API

Outre le grand nombre d’ensembles de données qui l’accompagnent, l’API donne lieu à la parution d’un nombre considérable de publications. Ces publications, avec celles qui sont issues des trois API précédentes, sont recensées dans la Banque de données canadienne des publications de l’API, tenue en partenariat avec l’Arctic Institute of North America de l’Université de Calgary. Cette banque de données répertorie les articles scientifiques issus de l’API, ainsi que les publications et articles de vulgarisation et la littérature grise touchant tous les aspects de l’API, y compris les projets d’éducation populaire. Pour chaque fiche, la banque de données contient une référence, un résumé, des mots-clés sur le sujet du texte et les particularités géographiques dont il traite, ainsi qu’une adresse URL le cas échéant. Les premières publications canadiennes concernant la dernière API (2007-2008) remontent à 2004, et on prévoit qu’il s’en écrira d’autres pendant encore au moins 10 ans.