Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

 

International Polar Year 2007-2008: A Valuable Opportunity for Canada - Inuktitut - PDF Version Portable Document Format

International Polar Year (IPY) 2007-2008 marks the largest-ever international program of scientific research focussed on the Arctic and Antarctic regions. Thousands of scientists and researchers from more than 60 nations around the globe are expected to participate in IPY during the 24-month period beginning March 2007.

In addition to presenting Canada with a valuable opportunity to work together with researchers from around the world, IPY will also create a more complete scientific understanding of the North that can be applied to address issues related to our environment and the well-being of our communities.

The Government of Canada has made a significant strategic investment and is working closely with Northern and Aboriginal communities, scientists and researchers, and other domestic and international partners to ensure International Polar Year 2007-2008 is sufficiently supported to deliver important results for Canadians. Federal funding will enable Canada to carry out an innovative, multidisciplinary program for IPY that will focus on two key priority areas for science and research: climate change impacts and adaptation and the health and the well-being of Northern Canadians. A range of training and capacity building initiatives will also be supported to develop a new generation of northern scientists and enhance the capacity to conduct science in the North.

Canada is playing an important global leadership role for International Polar Year 2007-2008 through the support of multi-national research collaborations, the participation of leading Canadian scientists and its role as host to top research teams from around the world.

Throughout International Polar Year 2007-2008, Canadians from all parts of the country will have opportunities to learn more about our North and its residents and the importance of the polar regions for the world as a whole. Ultimately, IPY 2007-2008 will foster greater connections and understanding across Canada and the rest of the world.

This website brings together information on the Government of Canada's program for International Polar Year 2007-2008.

International Polar Year: A brief history


To read the electronic version of a document in PDF format, you will need to use Acrobat Reader. You can download and install the free reader from the Internet Website of Adobe Systems Incorporated.

Please visit Access Adobe to help make PDF files accessible to screen reading utilities. These tools convert Adobe PDF documents into HTML or ASCII text which can then be read by a number of common screen reading programs that synthesize text as audible speech.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

 

Année polaire internationale 2007-2008 : une occasion unique pour le Canada - Inuktitut - Version PDF Format PDF

L'Année polaire internationale (API) 2007-2008 donnera lieu au plus important programme international de recherche scientifique jamais entrepris sur l'Arctique et l'Antarctique. Des milliers de scientifiques et de chercheurs de plus de soixante pays du monde entier devraient participer au programme de l'API, qui durera 24 mois et débutera en mars 2007.

L'API représente pour le Canada une occasion unique de collaborer avec des chercheurs des quatre coins de la planète, mais aussi la possibilité d'approfondir ses connaissances scientifiques sur le Nord en vue de régler des dossiers touchant son environnement et le mieux-être de ses collectivités.

Le gouvernement du Canada a fait un important investissement stratégique et travaille en étroite collaboration avec les collectivités nordiques et autochtones, les scientifiques et les chercheurs, ainsi que d'autres partenaires d'ici et d'ailleurs pour que l'API 2007-2008 bénéficie de l'appui nécessaire pour fournir aux Canadiens des résultats significatifs. Grâce au financement du gouvernement fédéral, le Canada pourra réaliser un programme novateur et multidisciplinaire qui visera deux priorités sur le plan de la recherche scientifique : les répercussions des changements climatiques et l'adaptation nécessaire qui en découle, ainsi que la santé et la qualité de vie des Canadiens qui vivent dans les collectivités nordiques. Différentes initiatives sur la formation et le renforcement des capacités seront également financées pour former une nouvelle génération de spécialistes de la recherche nordique et accroître la capacité de réaliser des recherches scientifiques dans cette région.

Le Canada, parce qu'il finance des projets de recherche multinationaux, assure la participation de ses meilleurs scientifiques et accueille les équipes de chercheurs les plus reconnues à l'échelle internationale, joue un rôle de chef de file mondial dans le cadre de l'API 2007-2008.

Tout au long de l'API 2007-2008, des Canadiens de partout au pays auront la chance exceptionnelle d'en apprendre davantage sur le Nord, les personnes qui y vivent et sur l'importance des régions polaires pour le monde en général. En bout de ligne, l'API 2007 2008 contribuera au resserrement des liens et à l'approfondissement des connaissances pour le bénéfice de tous les Canadiens et du reste du monde.

Ce site Internet est un recueil d'information sur le programme du gouvernement du Canada pour l'Année polaire internationale 2007-2008.

L'année polaire internationale : bref historique


Pour lire la version électronique en format PDF, vous avez besoin du lecteur Acrobat. Vous pouvez télécharger et installer le lecteur gratuitement à partir du site Internet d'Adobe Systems Incorporated

Visitez Access Adobe (en anglais seulement) pour vous aider à rendre les fichiers PDF accessibles aux logiciels utilitaires de lecture d'écran. Ces outils convertissent les documents Adobe PDF en texte HTML ou ASCII, qui peuvent alors être lus par un bon nombre de lecteurs d'écran usuels faisant la synthèse de la parole.